RSS

Basketball review game reflection

29 Aug

Last week I tried a game to help the students review operations with integers (positive and negative) – they next day we were calculating slope from two points and I figured the review would be good.  I used basketball.  Split the class in half.  Put a problem on the board, ex. -4-(-3)     Each student was to write down the question on their paper and write down what they thought the answer was.  After everyone was done I would use the random number generator on my graphing calculator and pick a number (each desk was labeled in my mind with a number).  Let’s say number 3 was picked.  The third person in each group would then have to tell me their answer.  If they got it right they could “shoot” the basketball (aka s0ft, squishy ball) into the basket (aka trash can).  If they made it  they got points for their team.  If they had the question wrong they did not get to shoot.

Couple good things I did that I will continue – let the students choose how many “points” to shoot for. Stand one desk away get 1 point, 2 desks = 2 points, etc.  That way those that didn’t consider themselves super athletic still felt they could participate.  I will continue to have students write down the problem and their answer – then if I wanted to I could have them turn their sheet in and I would have a mini formative assessment on how they did.

Things I changed in the process.  – After 1st hour I changed the scoring to if they missed a basket they lost that many points.  I figured since we were working with negative numbers this would be good practice as well.  BREAKTHROUGH MOMENT – kids understood the context of calculating score!  If the score was at -4 and they missed a 6 point shot they could easily say they had -10 p0ints and faster than  if I had written on the board -4 – 10.  And then we discussed what if we had shots worth negative points and you missed (subtracting a negative) – they got that it would be like adding.  So an added bonus to a review game!

Great thing about this game – can be adapted to all concepts.

Changes for the future – a kid volunteered to make a back board for the basket so we could do bank shots – or I might do the class against me!

Fun times in math class – now I just need to come up with (or find online) more review games – cuz now they expect it – what did i do?!?  ha ha

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on August 29, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Tags:

Leave a Reply

 
