RSS

MCTM Regional Conference Info

12 Jan

Welcome to my blog.  Hope you enjoy/enjoyed the presentation Other than a Worksheet.

You can access my livebinder page with all of my links from the presentation here.

Access my presentation on google slides here.

Here is a pdf of the examples referenced during the presentation.

Please add a comment or email me with questions or other ideas that you use in your classroom that you think other people (aka me) would like to know about.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on January 12, 2015 in Uncategorized

 

2 responses to “MCTM Regional Conference Info

  1. Rosanne

    February 3, 2015 at 12:23 am

    Hi! I am currently student teaching in a middle school math classroom and absolutely love it! I’m also an avid ed blog reader – which is how I came across your blog. I will (hopefully) be entering my first year of teaching this fall and would love to implement SBG. I’ve researched it for about a year now, and I really believe in what SBG stands for. Unfortunately, I can’t find any teachers in the area of my college that have implemented SBG – they all seem to use the traditional grading system 😦

    I’m very scared to implement SBG and would like to really see and understand how it works before I give it a shot. Would you be able to point me in the direction of great SBG resources? Also, do you think I am crazy to try to implement SBG this fall in a very traditional area without a SBG mentor?

     
    • Becky Rahm

      February 3, 2015 at 1:03 am

      Rosanne,
      Congrats on loving your student teaching experience. So much fun. Traditional grading does seem to be the norm in a lot of places. Our district is taking the steps to try and move to SBG in the next few years and I’m very excited to have more teachers on board.
      To me there isn’t one right way to implement SBG. As long as you involve the principals behind it (essential topics everyone must master, no zeros allowed, rework and redos are must) the logistics can very. Rick Wormeli has been my go to guy to inspiration/ideas.
      I have also learned that there will never be a perfect time to try this out. And you won’t get it right immediately. It is definitely a learning process. But if you go into it explaining to everyone (students and parents) they why behind what you are doing (their learning is your number one priority) and you are passionate about it I think you would be crazy to not implement your first year. : )
      Please feel free to email me with any questions you might have. I love talking SBG b . rahm at isd2184 .net
      btw – is your college in Nebraska (I saw the ending of your email) – I grew up in Nebraska, although definitely north of your college if you are in NE.
      Please let me know if you have any questions.

       

Leave a Reply

 
